Art Briefs

PCC Wind Ensemble plays the Three B’s


The Pima Community College’s Wind Ensemble will be performing their first concert of the 2014-2015 season on Oct. 23 at 7:30 p.m. at the PCC Center for the Arts Proscenium Theatre.

The ensemble is under the direction of Mark Nelson for their first performance this season they will be performing works from Bach, Beethoven, Brahms and other well know composers.

Featured works include, “Zapfenstreicke No. 3” by Beethoven, “Contrapunctus V from the Art of Fugue” by Bach and “Academic Festival Overture” by Brahms.

Other works include “Second Suite in F for Military Band” by Gustav Holst, “American Barndance” by Richard Saucedo and the band original classic “Chant and Jubilo” by W. Francis McBeth.

The program also includes individual ensembles performance featuring the percussion, brass and woodwind section.

Admission is $6 with available discounts.

The PCC CFA is located at the west campus at 2202 W. Anklam Rd.

For more information contact 206-6986 or

PCC Chorale and College Singer Concert


The PCC Chorale and College Singer will be having their first concert featuring the diverse works spanning from the Renaissance period through the 20th century.

The Chorale singers, under the direction of Jonathan Ng and will be performing works like “Wayfarin’ Stranger” by Gilbert M. Martin, “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot” by Alice Parker and Robert Shaw and “Medley from West Side Story” by William Stickles.

The College Singers will be performing three Renaissance Madrigals with “My Bonny Lass She Smileth” by Thomas Morley, “Weep, O Mine Eyes” by John Bennet and “Il est bel et bon” by Pierre Passereau.

They will also be singing the 20th century part with “Blue Bird” by Charles V. Stanford and two Baroque choral pieces “Miserere mei” by Antonio Lotti and “Let Their Celestial Concerts All Unite” from SAMSON by G. F. Handel.

The final performance of the evening includes a showcase of Franz Schubert with male singers from both choruses performing two male chorus works “Tirinklied, Op. 155” and “Standchen D920”.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *